Atsui. But not wet.

Saturday heralded the end of the ‘rainy season’ and the beginning of summer. Not that my week here for the end of the rainy season had produced much rain. Really only the day I arrived, when it was sunny when the plane landed, then when we left Narita an hour or so later, it monsooned down. Quite entertaining in heavy JP traffic…

Very close to where we live is a ‘Silver Village’ – old timers crib. I guess similar to Willy’s house. Each year on the first day of summer, the staff put on a shindig for the ‘hood. Which means some traditional Japanese summer celebrations ideal for a fresh young (!) gaijin like myself. The food at events like this is a little different to the NZ sausage in bread staple. Teriyaki chicken? Yakisoba noodles? Why the question marks? Is it because a kindly old lady came up to me and yabbered away in Japanese whilst I tried to explain that I could only understand evey 10th word she said? But I think that she was trying to explain that she could see that I was obviously pre obese and should find the free food as quickly as possible before I went on some sort of calorie deprived rampage.

I think that this sign says Avoid a trampling - feed the gaijin.

I think that this sign says 'Avoid a trampling - feed the gaijin'.

Taiko drummers. These guys rule!

Taiko drummers. These guys rule!

Bonodori dancers. And not one under 60! Maybe.

Bonodori dancers. And not one under 60! Maybe.

Pint sized Yukata wearers. And some Japanese dudes jacksie...

Pint sized Yukata wearers. And some Japanese dude's jacksie...

Wouldnt be right to finish a post without a pooch...

Wouldnt be right to finish a post without a pooch...

Leave a Reply

